Sacramento, California — Democrat Governor Gavin Newsom signed 15 new anti-gun bills into law on Friday, October 11th in a move that has gun owners in California reeling.
The most talked-about new law would expand who can file a “Red Flag” against a gun owner.
Previously, it was only police and immediate family members.
The new law expands it to employers, school employees, and even co-workers.
That’s right! If you happened to get in a discussion with your leftist co-worker Gary about gun rights while grabbing your lunch out of the fridge, Gary can call the cops and say you’re a danger to yourself or others!
Newsom signed another bill that increases how long the “Red Flag Gun Confiscation” would be in effect for a Californian.
Currently, a Red Flag order means you lose your guns for a year.
Newsom’s new law would extend that automatically to five years.
The length of time can only be reduced if the gun owner pays the court fees and legal costs to petition that it should be removed.
In case it wasn’t clear, the gun owner now bears the financial burden of proving his innocence after he’s been assumed guilty without a trial—and has already lost his rights.
Additional tweaking to the Red Flag law allowed a judge to issue a search warrant when they sign the Red Flag order.
This means that a gun owner can be asleep in his bed when the police arrive at 2:00 am to serve these new search warrants and come crashing in.
How many police will be shot accidentally by homeowners who think they’re facing a violent home invasion in the middle of the night?
And all it would take is one such shooting to “prove” that the people being Red Flagged really ARE dangerous and violent.
Newsom signed additional laws, including raising the minimum age to buy a semi-automatic rifle to 21 years old.
He also cracked down on ghost guns by making it law that even “precursor parts” like 80 percent lowers for AR’15s, barrels, or triggers must be sent to a licensed “precursor parts dealer.”
Even sent to a dealer, these parts will still require a background check and a fee.
He also signed a new law that citizens can only buy one rifle per month.
Another bill signed would remove the ‘cap’ that a county can charge for processing a concealed carry permit. Instead of $100 being the maximum, any county can set that amount as high as they want.
Want to technically allow concealed carry but make sure almost nobody carries? Raise the price from $100 to $1000 and see the numbers drop off overnight.
Newsom bragged online about how these bills—and the rest of the 15—were going to make California even safer than it already is.
“This continues California’s leadership in terms of gun safety,” Newsom said at a state Capitol bill-signing ceremony. “Gun violence is an epidemic in this country, one that’s been inflamed by the inaction of politicians in Washington.” Yes, California is known for its safety and low crime, Newsom. That gun control is really working.
If there is one sane gun owner left in California, get out before they put you in prison.
Newsom can have the start . . . there’s nothing left to save, anyway.