featured Second Amendment

War On Ammunition Begins January 1, 2018

[email_subscribe]

The war on gun owners and your Second Amendment rights truly never ends.

If it isn’t the gun-grabbers in DC attacking your rights, it’s some nut case legislator at the state level.

Sometimes the attacks are coming at the same time.

California recently passed a massive new round of gun control, much of which focused on cracking down on ammunition, that goes into affect on January 1, 2018.

New government controls on online buying, transportation of ammo, background checks, and magazine capacity to name a few.

Do You Support National Reciprocity? CLICK HERE TO VOTE IN THE POLL.

Ryan Sabalow with the Sacbee.com newspaper put together an extensive question and answer piece yesterday in that newspaper.

We’ve clipped the snippets for you below to read through it.

It may not affect you personally right now, but California is the test lab for gun and ammo bans that anti-gunners want to force on the rest of the country whenever they get the votes.

Can I own a detachable magazine holding more than 10 rounds?

Yes. For now.

Californians who owned detachable magazines capable of holding more than 10 rounds of ammunition were supposed to get rid of them by this past July or face criminal penalties. But gun rights groups challenged the ban. A judge issued an injunction this summer preventing the ban from taking effect while the legal challenges play out.

Two pending cases are likely to have hearings early next year, one of them before the U.S. 9th Circuit Court of Appeals, said Brandon Combs, president of the Firearms Policy Coalition, a gun-rights group.

Can I buy ammunition online or from a catalog?

Yes, but you can’t ship it to your home any more starting Jan. 1. You can still buy online or from a catalog, but you now have to ship ammunition first to a licensed vendor who can charge you a processing fee.

This isn’t a big change for Sacramentans. Their city, along with a few others around California, already had ordinances prohibiting direct mail of ammunition.

Does that direct-mail ban apply to “reloading” supplies such as bare bullets and empty cartridges?

No. The regulations on mail order sales don’t address unassembled ammunition parts bought by those who make their own.

Will I have to undergo a background check to buy ammunition?

Not in 2018. While you will have to go through a licensed dealer to transfer or buy ammo in California starting Jan. 1, background checks won’t start until July 2019.

Will I have to buy a special ammunition permit under the new background check rules?

Probably not. Proposition 63, approved by voters in 2016, included a provision that would have required ammunition buyers to pay the state up to $50 for a four-year permit to buy ammunition. But legislation signed the same year by Gov. Jerry Brown appears to have overridden that provision – at least for the time being. Rather than requiring a permit, the legislation Brown signed says ammunition buyers will instead pay a $1 state fee for a background check at the point of sale.

Legal experts say it’s not a sure bet that the law Brown signed would survive a court challenge, since voter-approved initiatives usually supersede legislation.

But so far, no one is pressing that issue. The backers of Prop. 63, championed by Lt. Gov. Gavin Newsom, haven’t challenged the legislation pushed by State Sen. President Kevin de León and signed by Brown. (Newsom and de León had a spat in 2016 over whose plan for regulating ammunition should prevail.)

Combs, the president of the gun rights group, said he doesn’t expect 2nd Amendment activists to push for Prop. 63’s background check rule either, because the legislation Brown signed is less of a hassle for consumers than what voters approved.

Can I drive in ammunition I bought out of state?

No. On Jan. 1, it will be illegal to import into California ammunition purchased in another state. The legislature passed a bill in 2016 that would have allowed hunters to bring in up to 50 rounds from out of state without taking it to a dealer, but Proposition 63 overrode that, according to the Department of Justice.

Will there be a limit on how much ammo I can buy?

No. The new rules impose no limits on ammo quantity.

Are there exceptions to these rules?

Yes, there are, but in very limited cases. For instance, law enforcement officials are exempt from some of the rules pertaining to ammunition, assault weapons and magazines; so are federal firearms license holders. Chances are the folks exempt from the rules already know they’re exempt, but further information can be found at the Department of Justice firearms website.

Do You Support National Reciprocity? CLICK HERE TO VOTE IN THE POLL

[pi_1x3]

Reader Comments

Don't Miss Second Amendment Daily Alerts